12 Comments Add yours

    1. ekuhns says:

      I use ham cut from bone or leftover ham bone

  1. troubl72 says:

    what type of ham? i tried this recipe last night. It did not come out well. I used ham steak.

    1. ekuhns says:

      I used leftover ham from a larger ham or prepackaged ham chunks

  2. I made this today and honestly it had no flavor :/ I decided to add about 3 tablespoons of butter and some salt and pepper to it at the end and that helped but I think there was just too much water in it and that gave it a plain taste…maybe cut the water in half? If I make it again I think that is what I will do!

  3. cctru says:

    Mine is in the crock pot right now, but I was worried about the flavor/lack of spice. Guess I will know in a couple hours.

  4. I make this on a regular basis and have been for years…..I add beef broth instead of water as well as some garlic powder, and cajun seasoning. It is packed with flavor. I also switch it out and make it with one of the following……keilbasa, smoked sausage, andouille sausage, ham, bacon, or diced up chicken breasts (use chicken broth if using chicken) I have also added zucchini & squash. It is really a fail safe recipe so season it with whatever you like.

  5. i made this and everybody said it was very good…just added a little salt to it and added bacon…was very delicious..

  6. Anytime I have a ham bone or ham hocks, I will cover it with water & boil for an hour or so. Then I freeze to use w/ any type of beans. That, plus some seasonings, will flavor the beans right up.

  7. Betty Baker says:

    The SECRET to using ham in a soup is the FAT & the BONE. You can do it without the bone, but not the fat. The flavor is in the fat. Beef or chicken stock is a good idea. You can also add flavor from garlic, bacon, SALT, cilantro LOTS OF ONION and so on.

  8. I’m making a vegan version of this. I have used 1.5 lb of leftover festive ‘gammon’ ( home made seitan with a pomegranate glaze) 1.5lbs green beans, 4 potatoes, 2 red chillies, 3 cups of water and 1 heaped teaspoon of yeast extract. There seems to be loads but I’m sure the three of us will plough through it!!

  9. Martie Davis says:

    peeeple.. buy a ham with a bone,cut most off,use for breakfasts,dinners,salads,etc….use bone and some meat to cook beans and potatoes…yum

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.